ANNUAL COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the Council Chamber, Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT on Wednesday, 17 May 2017 from 7.00pm - 7.54pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Sarah Aldridge, Mike Baldock, Cameron Beart, Bobbin, Monique Bonney, Andy Booth, Tina Booth, Lloyd Bowen, Bowles, Roger Clark, Derek Conway, Mike Cosgrove, Adrian Crowther, Mike Dendor, Duncan Dewar-Mark Ellen. Paul Fleming, Mick Galvin. Sue Gent. Whallev. James Hall. Nicholas Hampshire, Harrison, Alan Horton, James Hunt, Lesley Ingham, Ken Ingleton, Nigel Kay, Samuel Koffie-Williams (Deputy Mayor), Gerry Lewin, Peter Marchington, Bryan Mulhern, Padmini Nissanga, Prescott (Mayor), Ken Pugh. George Samuel. David Simmons. Ben Stokes, Roger Truelove, Anita Walker, Ghlin Whelan, Mike Whiting, Ted Wilcox and John Wright.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Philippa Davies, Chris Lovelock, Donna Price, Mark Radford, Gary Rowland and Nick Vickers.

APOLOGIES: Councillors Katy Coleman, Richard Darby, June Garrad and Mike Henderson.

10 PRAYERS

Authorised Lay Minister, Mrs Stephanie Wolfe, said Prayers.

11 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Mayor advised the meeting of the evacuation procedures.

12 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 29 March 2017 (Minute Nos. 1271 – 1281) were taken as read, approved and signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

13 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

14 MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor announced that the Annual Civic Service was to be held at Newnham Church on 30 July 2017 at 3pm. He advised that he was reverting to the dedication of all Councillors, and not just the Mayor. The Deputy Lieutenant would also be attending.

On 19 July 2017 at 7pm, the Mayor would be holding a reception in the Mayor's Parlour for all Parish Council Chairmen. The Leader, Chief Executive and Deputy Lieutenant had all been invited.

15 ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES AND THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Leader introduced the report, which asked the Council to establish the Committees of the Council for the Municipal Year 2017/18, with the terms of reference, as set-out in Appendix I of the report. There were no changes to the existing arrangements.

The recommendation was proposed by the Leader, and seconded by the Deputy Leader.

Resolved:

(1) That the Committees and Terms of Reference, as set-out in Appendix I to the report, be agreed for the 2017/18 Municipal Year.

16 ALLOCATION OF COMMITTEE SEATS AND COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS FOR 2017/18

The Leader introduced the report. The nominations submitted by the minority Group Leaders had been tabled and the Leader explained that his nominations would be forwarded to Democratic Services for circulation to Members.

The Leader stated that there were currently no changes to his Cabinet appointments for 2017/18, and he announced the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen for the Committees set-out on the tabled paper.

The Leader announced that he was putting forward six nominations from the Conservative Group (previously five) for the Swale Joint Transportation Board (JTB). He referred to Paragraph 2.5 in the report which stated that the JTB was an Executive function and its membership was not covered by Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The recommendations were proposed by the Leader, and seconded by the Deputy Leader.

The Leader of the UKIP Group considered the proposal for six Conservative Group nominations for the JTB was unrepresentative and undemocratic.

The Chief Executive advised that with six nominations from the Conservative Group, a vote was required on the nominations received from the UKIP Group and the Labour Group, for the remaining one seat on the JTB. At this point the Leader of the Labour Group announced that he considered the seat should go to the Leader of the opposition group. The Leader of the Labour Group withdrew his nomination.

Resolved:

(1) That the political balance calculation be agreed.

(2) That the allocation of seats to Committees in accordance with the wishes of the Group Leaders, and as attached to Appendix I to these Minutes, be agreed.

(3) That the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the Committees, as set-out in Appendix II to these Minutes, be agreed.

17 BOROUGH COUNCIL REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES, TRUSTS ADMINISTERED BY SWALE BOROUGH COUNCIL AND STATUTORY BODIES

The Leader introduced the report which asked for agreement of Borough Council representation on outside bodies, trusts administered by Swale Borough Council (SBC) and statutory bodies.

The nominations submitted by the minority Group Leaders had been tabled, and the Leader went through the schedule, and read out his nominations. A vote was taken on those organisations where there were more nominations than seats. The Chief Executive explained the voting procedure and announced the results of the voting on the relevant outside bodies where there were more nominations than seats available.

Bensted's Charity, Faversham, result of vote: Councillor Mike Cosgrove and Honorary Alderman Mrs Cindy Davis were appointed.

Kent Downs Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, result of vote: Councillor Prescott was appointed.

The Leader explained the background to there being an increase in the SBC nominations on the Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board, due to an increase of funding from SBC. Six nominations from SBC were required, although the Leader advised that, after final discussions with the Board, this might be reduced to five; he confirmed that he would advise Members if this was the case.

The recommendations were proposed by the Leader, and seconded by the Deputy Leader.

Confirmation would be sought as to whether Councillor Mike Henderson wished to remain on the Oare Gunpowder Works Advisory Group.

Post Meeting Note: Councillor Mike Henderson confirmed that he wished to remain on the Oare Gunpowder Works Advisory Group.

Resolved:

(1) That the Borough Council representation on outside bodies, trusts administered by Swale Borough Council and statutory bodies, be as set out in Appendix III to the Minutes.

18 CONFIRMATION OF TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS FOR 2017/18

The Leader reminded Members that the Timetable of Meetings 2017/18 was agreed by Council on 15 February 2017. There had been a couple of changes to the timetable, due to the announcement of the General Election.

Resolved:

(1) That the updated Timetable of Meetings for the 2017/18 Municipal Year be noted.

<u>Chairman</u>

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel